I am proud to accept this award on behalf of all Optel Vision employees, as our success is the result of our business model, which is based on people, healthy productivity and longevity. Here, tonight, I propose that we all rise to our ultimate challenge : to develop companies that are increasingly innovative and reinvest our profits to create a better world. I believe it’s possible if we all work together,” stated Mr. Louis Roy, President of Optel Vision, at the gala.

Under the honorary presidency of Mr. Martin Thibodeau, President of RBC Banque Royale, Direction du Québec, for the second consecutive year, the gala recognized the exceptional accomplishments of 27 companies and entrepreneurs in 14 categories, honoring both large businesses and SMEs.

The most coveted award, Company of the Year (Large Business), was presented to Optel Vision Inc., in Québec City, which provides traceability and inspection solutions for the global pharmaceutical industry. […]

The Mercure Trophy ─ A Source of Pride

“It is with great conviction that the FCCQ supports and encourages the growth of our local business environment by highlighting the success and vitality of these companies and their teams. Our awards are meant to create or increase their momentum. Let’s not forget that our businesses are the key to creating wealth for Québec,” said Ms. Françoise Bertrand, President of the Québec chamber of commerce federation (FCCQ).

Aptly named L’Envol (which means to take flight), the trophy design represents a stylized sculpture of a bird, whose carvings symbolize all the strength and weightlessness attributed to Mercury, the Roman God of Commerce. Mercury’s ability to shape-shift according to circumstances was the basis of his renowned strength. This original sculpture, by artist Giuseppe Benedetto, evokes the power and drive to succeed and, through its depiction of flight, suggests adaptability and progress.


The FCCQ would like to thank the jury of the 36th edition of the Mercuriades Awards for all their hard work. Presided by Mr. Jean-René Halde, Chairman of l’École de Technologie Supérieure (ÉTS),  the jury consisted of members of various companies and organizations representing every sector of the economy, as well as BDO Canada, official evaluator of the contest.  

Such an initiative would not have been possible without the valuable support of generous partners. The FCCQ would therefore like to extend a warm thank-you to all our collaborators: RBC Banque Royale, Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec, CN, CNESST, Sun Life, Gaz Métro, Group Investors, Hydro-Québec, Investissement Québec, l’Office québécois de la langue française, Ordre des CPA du Québec, Produits forestiers Résolu, Raymond Chabot Grant Thornton, TELUS, AstraZeneca, Desjardins Entreprises, ESG UQAM, Fonds de solidarité FTQ, Coop fédérée, Power Corporation du Canada, Rio Tinto, TransCanada, Agropur Coopérative, Air Canada, Clientis, Metro, Mobilia, Redevances Aurifères Osisko, Cogeco, La Presse +, and ICI RDI.

Share this page